Cricket network logo


Banting & Graham Named Shooting Stars

11 August 2016

Megan Banting & Heather Graham // Getty

The 20-year-olds have been identified as future Aussie players & will head to the Talent Camp.

Perth Scorchers duo Megan Banting and Heather Graham have been named in the 14-player Commonwealth Bank Shooting Stars development squad which will attend a camp at the Bupa National Cricket Centre next month.

The development squad has been selected by the Women's National Selection Panel (WNSP), and features some of the Australia's brightest young talent who impressed during the rebel Women's Big Bash League and Women’s National Cricket League last summer.

The squad includes 11 players who were part of the Shooting Stars tour of Sri Lanka in April, with Banting and Graham part of that trip.

Banting, 20, played four WBBL games for the Scorchers last season and stepped up for Jenny Wallace as the wicketkeeper for the Alcohol.Think Again Western Fury throughout the 2015-16 WNCL.

Graham, 20, enjoyed a breakout 2015-16 season, taking 11 wickets and scoring 54 runs in WBBL|01, while she made 127 runs at 63.50 in the WNCL with nine dismissals with the ball.

They will attend the camp at the Bupa National Cricket Centre from 26-30 September, where they will play a series of matches against a NSW Academy side.

Commenting on the 14-player squad, Women’s National Selector Shawn Flegler said: "We’ve identified these players as having the potential to play for Australia in the future, after they impressed at different stages last summer and on the tour of Sri Lanka earlier this year.

"We’re keen to see the continued development of these promising and exciting players.

"The September camp is a great opportunity for players to hone their skills ahead of the domestic season and push their cases for international selection."

A Shooting Stars squad will again tour Sri Lanka in March 2017.

Shooting Stars Squad 2016-17:

Player    State      Age

Megan Banting  WA         20

Samantha Betts SA           20

Hayleigh Brennan             VIC         17

Ash Gardner        NSW      19

Maisy Gibson      NSW      19

Heather Graham               WA         19

Nicola Hancock  ACT        20

Erin Lawler          TAS        19

Tahlia McGrath  SA           20

Sophie Molineux               VIC         18

Alex Price            SA           20

Lauren Smith      NSW      19

Belinda Vakarewa            NSW      18

Amanda Jade Wellington               SA           18