Cricket network logo

Junior Clubs Named Budget Direct Community Cup Champions

03 February 2022

Kingsley Woodvale’s Owen Brown was named Player of the Match and WA Cricket Chair Hon. Tuck Waldron

Winners of the Budget Direct Community T20 Cup Finals have been named, following an action-packed day of cricket at the iconic WACA Ground on the day of the Perth Scorchers’ BBL|11 Final victory.

The day started with a thrilling Super Over victory by Joondalup Kinross, the Club claiming the Under 15 Boys Championship after defeating Jandakot Lakes by a thrilling four runs.

Under 15 Boys Final

Joondalup Kinross opened with the bat and made a competitive total of 140, Lincoln Fieldhouse top scored with an unbeaten 31 from 20 balls.

In what was a solid run, Jandakot required just 2 runs to win. Joondalup Kinross’ Jayden Rotham held Jandakot to just one run.

Jandakot made sevens runs in their Super Over. With one ball remaining, scores were level, and Joondalup Kinross managed to hit the ball for four to win and claim the title.

Jayden Rotham of Joondalup Kinross was named Player of the Match.

Under 15 Girls Final

North Beach Carine took out the Under 15 Girls title, with a victory over Bateman. North Beach Carine made 98 runs in their first innings, highlighted by an impressive 37 runs by Teagan Williamson.

It was a close match to the very end, with Bateman falling short of the run target, all out for 84.

Off the back of his dominant performance with the bat Teagan Williamson was named Player of the Match.

Under 17 Boys Final

Kingsley Woodvale have claimedd the Under 17s title, defeating Leederville Mt Hawthorn by 10 runs in the big Final.

Kingsley Woodvale were off to a solid start with bat in hand, producing 99 runs at the 10-over mark.
Owen Brown whacked 39 from 16 balls which included five fours and three sixes, and he well supported by skipper Kane Pearce who made an unbeaten 22-ball 26.

The incredible at display helped guide the side to a competitive total of 156 runs.

Leederville Mt Hawthorn were up for the challenge, recovering well from an early wicket to be placed 2-75 after 10 overs.

Some tight bowling by Matt Carroll (1-14 from three overs) and Cody Billington (1-15 from three overs) meant Leederville fell 10 runs short of the target on 7-146.

Kingsley Woodvale’s Owen Brown was named Player of the Match (pictured).

Chair of Community Junior Cricket Council Margie Oldfield said the Cup event is a great initiative that wouldn't get up without the support of major sponsor Budget Direct.

“The Budget Direct Community T20 Cup is a great initiative and we are really excited to have Budget Direct onboard," she said.

"I think it's very encouraging for parents and participants to see that Budget Direct is not only supporting our elite teams but they are having a really positive impact at the grassroots level too.”

Budget Direct Community T20 Cup Champions

The Perth Scorchers extend a special thank you to Budget Direct for their support of grassroots cricket as well as their ongoing partnership with our WBBL and BBL teams.