Cricket network logo

Devine, Mooney Named In WBBL07 Team of the Season

22 November 2021

Sophie and Beth // Getty Images

The Weber WBBL|07 Team of the Season has been named, with the Perth Scorchers unstoppable openers Sophie Devine and Beth Mooney selected in the competition’s best XI.

A four-person selection panel of Mel Jones, Lisa Sthalekar, Shawn Flegler and Laura Jolly selected the side based on performances in the 56-game regular season.

The team is captained by Perth Scorchers captain Sophie Devine, who led from the front as her team secured a home Final this Saturday at Optus Stadium. Devine plundered 407 runs at 33.91 apiece and at a strike rate of almost 131, in addition to her nine wickets with the ball, justifying her status as the ICC’s top-ranked T20 International allrounder.

Devine is joined at the top of the order by her Scorchers opening partner Beth Mooney. The current number one T20 International batter on the ICC rankings also leads the Weber WBBL|07’s BKT Golden Bat leaderboard with 528 runs from 13 innings at an average of 52.80 and strike rate of 132.

Georgia Redmayne takes the gloves in the Team of the Season after claiming 17 dismissals (13 catches, four stumpings) behind the stumps for the Brisbane Heat. Additionally, her 436 runs including five crucial half-centuries proved a major factor as her side reached the playoff stages.

The side’s middle order features a number of powerful batting all-rounders who made sizeable contributions throughout the campaign. Harmanpreet Kaur (399 runs, 15 wickets), Grace Harris (403 runs, six wickets) and Tahlia McGrath (264 runs, 10 wickets) each stood up when required to ensure their sides finished in the top four.

The spin-bowling department is led by the Heat’s BKT Golden Arm Jess Jonassen and Strikers’ Amanda-Jade Wellington. Jonassen claimed 21 wickets in just 45.1 overs bowled throughout the Weber WBBL|07 regular season, five clear of a cluster of bowlers on 16 wickets including Wellington.

Three fast bowlers make up the year’s merit XI. At just 19 years of age, Hannah Darlington responded to being thrust into the Sydney Thunder captaincy by ending the campaign as her side’s leading bowler with 16 wickets at 20.75. Her Australian teammates Darcie Brown (15 wickets) and Tayla Vlaeminck (13 wickets) bring searing pace and swing to the bowling attack.

The side is coached by the Renegades’ Simon Helmot, who oversaw a remarkable year-on-year turnaround for his club. The Renegades finished seventh in WBBL|06 with just four victories, but doubled their win count to secure a top two spot and hosting rights for The Challenger in the Finals series.

Shawn Flegler, CA’s Head of Performance, Women’s Cricket, said:

“The Weber WBBL|07 Team of the Season is a side that would be extremely competitive in any T20 match across the world.

“This team features a powerful batting line up, fearsome fast bowling and skilful spinners, not to mention two world-class all-rounders from overseas in Sophie Devine and Harmanpreet Kaur.

“Alongside them, it is pleasing to see seven members of Australia’s CommBank Series squad that defeated India back up and perform to this level throughout the Weber WBBL|07 season.

“We congratulate all players on their success throughout the season which has earned them selection in this merit team and wish all who are taking place in the Finals series the best of luck”


Sophie Devine (Perth Scorchers, captain, international)
Beth Mooney (Perth Scorchers)

Georgia Redmayne (Brisbane Heat, wicket-keeper)
Harmanpreet Kaur (Melbourne Renegades, international)
Grace Harris (Brisbane Heat)
Tahlia McGrath (Adelaide Strikers)
Jess Jonassen (Brisbane Heat)
Amanda-Jade Wellington (Adelaide Strikers)
Hannah Darlington (Sydney Thunder)
Tayla Vlaeminck (Hobart Hurricanes)
Darcie Brown (Adelaide Strikers)

Coach: Simon Helmot (Melbourne Renegades)

Mel Jones, CA Director, Fox Cricket commentator
Lisa Sthalekar, Seven commentator
Shawn Flegler, CA Head of Performance, Women’s Cricket
Laura Jolly, Women’s Cricket Editor