Cricket network logo

Fixture Update

04 January 2022

Jason Behrendorff // Getty Images

The Perth Scorchers KFC Big Bash League games against the Sydney Sixers and the Sydney Thunder this week have been rescheduled.

Tuesday 4 January, 4:15pm WST: Perth Scorchers v Sydney Sixers (previously scheduled for 6 January)
Thursday 6 January, 6:15pm WST: Perth Scorchers v Sydney Thunder (previously scheduled for 5 January)

The changes have been made after positive rapid antigen tests were recorded within the Brisbane Heat squad this morning, who are also on the Gold Coast and were due to play the Sydney Sixers tonight. The Club has now undertaken PCR testing of all players and support staff, plus potential replacement players

The League and the Perth Scorchers will continue to prioritise the safety of all players, match officials, staff, fans and the wider community throughout the KFC BBL|11 season.

The Scorchers have announced their 14-player squad to face the Sixers at Metricon Stadium tonight, with the addition of Local Replacement Player Chris Sabburg.

The hard-hitting batter has been a dominant force in the WA Primer Cricket scene making 111 earlier in the season, then more recently whacking 101* in 57 balls including nine sixes. The captain of Wanneroo has been picked for his powerful and dynamic style claiming 62 off 42 balls including 10 boundaries in the game following his unbeaten century.

Tonight will be the final match for England pace bowler Tymal Mills, who has been a vital part of the Scorchers bowling attack claiming nine wickets and best figures of 3-23 after five matches in the orange.

Perth Scorchers head coach, Adam Voges said;

“We have to be adaptable and agile in these times and I know the players won’t let last minute changes like this affect their game.

“It’s sad to be saying farewell to Tymal after tonight’s game, he’s been great to have around the squad and has played a big part in the success over the five games he’s played in. We wish him all the best for his England duties and thank him for his time with us.”

Game 9: Perth Scorchers BBL squad
1. Ashton Turner ©
2. Ashton Agar
3. Cameron Bancroft
4. Jason Behrendorff
5. Laurie Evans
6. Aaron Hardie
7. Peter Hatzoglou
8. Tymal Mills
9. David Moody
10. Lance Morris
11. Colin Munro
12. Kurtis Patterson
13. Chris Sabburg
14. Andrew Tye

IN- Chris Sabburg (Local Replacement Player for Cooper Connolly)

Perth Scorchers v Sydney Sixers
Tuesday 4 January, 4:15pm WST
Metricon Stadium, Gold Coast
LIVE: Seven, Foxtel, Kayo, SEN 1116