Cricket network logo


Four Scorchers Named In Aussie T20 Squad

01 February 2017

Michael Klinger // Getty Images

Perth Scorchers quartet Michael Klinger, Andrew Tye, Ashton Turner & Jhye Richardson get call-ups.

Cricket Australia’s National Selection Panel has confirmed a 13-player squad to take on Sri Lanka in a three match KFC Twenty20 International series.

The matches will be played as double-headers with the Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars also taking on New Zealand at the MCG (17 February), Kardinia Park in Geelong (19 February) and Adelaide Oval (22 February).

KFC T20 International Australia squad: 

Name                                    BBL Club (State Assoc.)

Aaron Finch (C)                 Melbourne Renegades (VIC)

Patrick Cummins              Sydney Thunder (NSW)

James Faulkner                 Melbourne Stars (TAS)

Travis Head                         Adelaide Strikers (SA)

Moises Henriques           Sydney Sixers (NSW)

Michael Klinger                 Perth Scorchers (WA)

Chris Lynn                           Brisbane Heat (subject to fitness) (QLD)

Tim Paine                            Hobart Hurricanes (TAS)

Jhye Richardson               Perth Scorchers (WA)

Billy Stanlake                      Adelaide Strikers (QLD)

Ashton Turner                   Perth Scorchers (WA)

Andrew Tye                       Perth Scorchers (WA)

Adam Zampa                     Melbourne Stars (SA)

The squad includes four uncapped players in Klinger, Richardson, Stanlake and Turner.

Commenting on the selection, Interim National Selector Trevor Hohns said: “On Michael Klinger’s selection, he has been a very good player in this form of the game for some time now.

“He has a history of strong performances in T20 competitions in the UK and in the BBL, including the match-winning innings for the Perth Scorchers to secure this year’s BBL title.”

Hohns added: “Ashton Turner, Adam Zampa, Pat Cummins, Jhye Richardson and Billy Stanlake round off the bowlers in the squad, all maintaining a balance of excellent economy and wickets in this format, which is essential for a winning side.”

Players selected in this squad will be available to their states for the next round of Sheffield Shield, concluding on 13 February, before assembling in Melbourne on 14 February.

Top Stories