Cricket network logo

Graham, Turner Named Players Of The Year

09 April 2019

Heather Graham and Ashton Turner have capped off a sensational season with the Scorchers, claiming the WBBL Player of the Year and Simon Katich medal respectively, at the WACA's Laurie Sawle Medal night on Friday 5 March.

Graham was one of the most consistent performers over the 2018-19 WBBL season, compiling 161 runs and 22 wickets (the most in the competition) to earn her the WBBL Player of the Year title.

The highlight of the all-rounder's season came during the women's nail-biting super over victory against the Hurricanes on Tuesday 18 December.

Needing 17 runs off the last of their allotted 20 overs, Graham smacked 16 from the bowling of Heather Knight, including two off the final ball to leave both sides level.

Then Graham bowled the crucial six deliveries that would determine the winner of the must-win match. The 22-year-old bowler took two wickets and restricted the Hurricanes to just 10 runs to seal victory.

Graham finished the season with best bowling figures of 3-25.

Ashton Turner was awarded the Simon Katich medal for his stellar performance for the Scorchers, banking 378 runs for the season.

Turner's biggest shot came during the Scorchers' clash against the Melbourne Renegades at Marvel Stadium on 20 December.

The right-handed batsman let loose with a massive shot off the bowling of Renegades all-rounder Dan Christian that plummeted down at a right angle after bouncing off the rafters meaning an automatic six runs.

Turner averaged 31.5 across his 14 innings, posting a high score of 69 that helped the Scorchers to a 27-run victory over the Stars in the final home game of the season.

Chloe Piparo took out the values-based Legacy award, while skipper Mitch Marsh and Matt Kelly were named joint winners of the Excalibur award.

Click here for all WA Cricket award winners.

2018-19 WBBL Player of the Year Heather Graham


2018-19 Simon Katich medallist Ashton Turner