Cricket network logo

Mills, Evans Among English Draft Nominees

27 July 2022

Title-winning Perth Scorchers stars Tymal Mills and Laurie Evans are among 70 English cricketers to have nominated for the 2022-23 KFC Big Bash League Draft.

Perth has the option to use its retention pick on one of Mills, Evans or hard-hitting New Zealander Colin Munro when the Draft takes place on Sunday, 28 August.

Mills played seven games and took 12 wickets at 15.83 during the Scorchers’ triumphant 2021-22 MBBL campaign, flourishing with express left-arm pace and a raft of variations. His ability to bowl at all stages of the innings proved invaluable.

Evans’ versatility was also critical to Perth’s fortunes, occupying most positions in the top and middle-order.

The Surrey product struck 361 runs at 40.11 (strike rate 144.40) in 12 innings, capping off the tournament with a match-defining 76 not-out from 41 deliveries in the Final against Sydney Sixers at Marvel Stadium. That innings earned Evans Player of the Match honours, and came when Perth were reeling on 4-25 after six overs.

Former Scorchers powerhouse Liam Livingstone is also available for selection but cannot be automatically retained by Perth as he sat out last year’s MBBL. The same rule stands for Brydon Carse, who was originally recruited by the Scorchers ahead of the 2021-22 MBBL season before withdrawing late because of injury. 

Perth will take picks six, 14, 19 and 30 into the Draft.

All Draft nominees announced are below, with the remainder to be revealed by Cricket Australia in the coming weeks. 

: Qais Ahmad, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Waqarullah Ishaq, Rashid Khan, Izharulhaq Naveed, Naveen Ul Haq Murid, Hazratullah Zazai
: Colin Ackermann (also Netherlands), Rehan Ahmed, Martin Andersson, Gus Atkinson, Josh Baker, Sonny Baker, Jake Ball, James Bracey, Danny Briggs, Henry Brookes, Brydon Carse, Matthew Carter, Jordan Clark, Joe Clarke, Josh Cobb, Ian Cockbain, Jordan Cox, Mason Crane, Matt Critchley, Liam Dawson, Brett D'oliveira, Jacobus Leus Du Plooy, Stephen Eskinazi, Laurie Evans, Matt Fisher, James Fuller, George Garton, Richard Gleeson, Lewis Gregory, Sam Hain, Alex Hales, Miles Hammond, Tom Hartley, Jack Haynes, Freddie Heldreich, Tom Helm, Ryan Higgins, Max Holden, Benny Howell, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Danny Lamb, Jack Leaning, Jake Lintott, Liam Livingstone, Lewis Mcmanus, Ben Mike, Tymal Mills, Daniel Mousley, Steven Mullaney, Callum Parkinson, Matt Parkinson, David Payne, Michael Pepper, Ollie Pope, Matthew Potts, Ben, Raine, Adam Rossington, George Scrimshaw, John Simpson, Prem Sisodiya, Olly Stone, Tommy Taylor, Reece Topley, Liam Trevaskis, James Vince, Joe Weatherley, Ross Whiteley, Chris Wood, Luke Wood, Saif Zaib
: David Wiese (previously South Africa)
New Zealand
: Todd Astle, Colin Munro
South Africa
: Marchant de Lange, Faf du Plessis, Rilee Rossouw
West Indies
: Dwayne Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Chemar Holder, Akeal Hosein, Evin Lewis, Anderson Phillip, Kieron Pollard, Khary Pierre, Ravi Rampaul, Sherfane Rutherford, Jayden Seales, Kevin Sinclair, Tion Webster, Nyeem Young

Perth Scorchers MBBL squad: Ashton Agar, Cameron Bancroft, Jason Behrendorff, Cooper Connolly, Aaron Hardie, Peter Hatzoglou, Nick Hobson, Josh Inglis, Matt Kelly, Mitch Marsh, Lance Morris, Jhye Richardson, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye