Cricket network logo

Mitch and AJ Named In Team of the Tournament

24 January 2022

Mitch Marsh // Getty Images

Scorchers stars Mitch Marsh and Andrew Tye have been named in the KFC BBL|11 Team of the Tournament, selected by the head coaches of all eight clubs.

Despite playing just seven matches due to his national commitments, Mitch showed the quality that saw him win the player of the match award in the recent ICC Men's T20 World Cup Final, smashing 342 runs at an average of 68.40.

AJ Tye cemented his status as a BBL great, passing the 100 wicket mark in the competition this season.

Trent Woodhill, Big Bash Leagues' Player Acquisition and Cricket Consultant, said:

"This is one of the most exciting Team of the Tournament line ups in BBL history, featuring a combination of World Cup winners, seasoned BBL veterans, breakout stars and history-makers in our competition.

"The batting line up is packed with power and T20 prowess, while the bowling attack is varied and skillful. This line up has succeeded on our pitches throughout KFC BBL|11, but would be a handful in any conditions around the world.

"We congratulate all players selected and thank the eight head coaches for their careful consideration in selecting this side."

Number Player Club Votes
1 Ben McDermott Hobart Hurricanes 8
2 Josh Philippe (wicket-keeper) Sydney Sixers 8
3 Joe Clarke Melbourne Stars 5
4 Mitchell Marsh Perth Scorchers 7
5 Matt Short Adelaide Strikers 6
6 Moises Henriques Sydney Sixers 6
7 Daniel Sams Sydney Thunder 8
8 Rashid Khan Adelaide Strikers 7
9 Hayden Kerr Sydney Sixers 6
10 Andrew Tye Perth Scorchers 5
11 Peter Siddle (captain) Adelaide Strikers 8
X-Factor Sean Abbott Sydney Sixers 4
X-Factor Jason Sangha Sydney Thunder 3