Cricket network logo

Squad Announced For Opening Matches

25 October 2020

Nicole Bolton // Getty Images

The Perth Scorchers have announced a 13-player squad for their opening two fixtures of the rebel Women’s Big Bash League season.

Scorchers fans won’t have to wait long to see their favourite players in action, with the team’s Sunday morning match officially opening WBBL|06.

Perth will kick-off their campaign against the Brisbane Heat at North Sydney Oval, with boom recruit Beth Mooney primed to make her Scorchers debut against her former club.

The season opener could feature another potential debutant in English leg-spinner Sarah Glenn.

Head Coach Shelley Nitschke said the team is raring to go for their opening match.

“There’s a great buzz about our group and we’re excited for the first game,” she said.

“We are happy with how our team is shaping up, it’s an extremely healthy competition and we are looking forward to getting our campaign underway this Sunday.”

Carmichael sustained an acute lower back injury while fielding at training yesterday afternoon and is subsequently unavailable for the next two fixtures.

An update on her injury will be provided at a later date.

Perth will then face the Hobart Hurricanes on Monday 26 October at Hurstville Oval.


Perth Scorchers v Brisbane Heat
Sunday 25 October, 7.20am WST
North Sydney Oval
LIVE: Seven, Fox Cricket, Kayo, & CA Live App

Perth Scorchers v Hobart Hurricanes
Monday 26 October, 11.30am WST
Hurstville Oval
LIVE: ABC Radio, Kayo, & CA Live App

Perth Scorchers Squad:
Sophie Devine (c)
Megan Banting
Jemma Barsby
Sam Betts
Nicole Bolton
Emma King
Piepa Cleary
Sarah Glenn
Heather Graham
Amy Jones
Beth Mooney
Taneale Peschel
Chloe Piparo