Cricket network logo


Scorchers Duo Named Shooting Stars

15 March 2017

Piepa Cleary celebrates a wicket with team-mates // Getty Images

The 20-year-old pair impressed in orange during WBBL|02 & are headed off to Sri Lanka for the upcoming series.

Perth Scorchers duo Piepa Cleary and Heather Graham have today been named by Cricket Australia’s National Selection panel in a 13-player Commonwealth Bank Shooting Stars squad to tour Sri Lanka from 27 March– 11 April.  

Made up of Australia’s best emerging players aged 21 and under, the side will be coached by former Australian fast-bowler and Women’s Youth Coach, Cathryn Fitzpatrick with Victoria and Melbourne Stars’ Coach, David Hemp acting as Assistant Coach.

The squad will assemble at the Bupa National Cricket Centre (NCC) in Brisbane on Sunday 26 March before flying to Colombo where they will play three One-Day fixtures and three Twenty20s against Sri Lanka. 

The Scorchers pair, both 20, enjoyed breakout seasons during the 2016-17 Rebel Women’s Big Bash League as Perth reached the decider.

Cleary took 11 wickets from eight matches, with a team best economy rate of 5.24 and tidy average of 11.9.

Graham made 239 at an average of 29.87 while she also took 10 wickets with the ball.

Speaking following the selection of the side, National Selector Shawn Flegler said: “The players that have been included in this squad were all standouts across the summer, with some really impressive performances for their domestic sides and Women’s Big Bash League clubs.”

Commonwealth Bank Shooting Stars squad to tour Sri Lanka:

Name    State/WBBL Club              Age

Jemma Barsby   QLD/Heat            21

Maitlan Brown ACT/Renegades 19

Piepa Cleary       WA/Scorchers   20

Tess Cooper       QLD/Heat            20

Heather Graham               WA/Scorchers   20

Mikayla Hinkley*              NSW/Thunder   18

Alana King           VIC/Stars             21

Tahlia McGrath SA/Strikers         21

Georgia Redmayne          TAS/Hurricanes 23

Lauren Smith      NSW/Sixers        20

Rachel Trenaman             ACT/NSW Country           15

Belinda Vakarewa            NSW/Thunder   19

Georgia Wareham            VIC/Renegades 17

*subject to fitness


Commonwealth Bank Shooting Stars v Sri Lanka schedule

30 March: First ODI, Moors, Colombo

1 April: Second ODI, Moors, Colombo

3 April: Third ODI, FTZ Katunayake, Colombo  

6 April: First T20, Bloomfield, Colombo

8 April: Second T20, FTZ Katunayake, Colombo

10 April: Third T20, FTZ Katunayake, Colombo