Cricket network logo


Scorchers Duo Selected For Australia

31 January 2017

Credit: Getty Images

Elyse Villani and Nicole Bolton have been called up for the Southern Stars.

Perth Scorchers pair Elyse Villani and Nicole Bolton have both been selected in the Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars Twenty20 and One Day International squads to face New Zealand in February.

Villani has been selected in both squads, while Bolton has only been included in the ODI squad.

The Scorchers opening batters are coming off a great Rebel Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) with Villani scoring nearly 450 tournament runs while Bolton racked up over 300.

National selector Shawn Flegler said everyone named in both squads thoroughly deserved their spot.

"Everyone involved in these squads had an impact for their various clubs in the WBBL and it is pleasing to see them competing as such a high level," Flegler said.

"With the ICC Women’s World Cup taking place in England in June, this is a really important series as we finalise preparations for one of the biggest challenges in world cricket."


Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars T20 squad

Meg Lanning © (Melbourne Stars/VIC)

Kristen Beams (Melbourne Stars/VIC)

Alex Blackwell (Sydney Thunder/NSW)

Lauren Cheatle (Sydney Thunder/NSW)

Rene Farrell (Sydney Thunder/NSW)

Ashleigh Gardner (Sydney Sixers/NSW)

Alyssa Healy (Sydney Sixers/NSW)

Jess Jonassen (Brisbane Heat/QLD)

Beth Mooney (Brisbane Heat/QLD)

Megan Schutt (Adelaide Strikers/SA)

Molly Strano (Melbourne Renegades/VIC)

Elyse Villani (Perth Scorchers/WA)

Amanda-Jade Wellington (Adelaide Strikers/SA)


Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars ODI squad 

Meg Lanning © (VIC)

Kristen Beams (VIC)

Alex Blackwell (NSW)

Nicole Bolton (WA)

Lauren Cheatle (NSW)

Rene Farrell (NSW)

Ashleigh Gardner (NSW)

Alyssa Healy (NSW)

Jess Jonassen (QLD)

Beth Mooney (QLD)

Ellyse Perry (NSW) *subject to fitness

Megan Schutt (SA)

Elyse Villani (WA)

Amanda-Jade Wellington (SA)


New Zealand v Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars (T20) schedule

17 February: First T20, MCG, Melbourne

19 February: Second T20, Kardinia Park, Geelong

22 February: Third T20, Adelaide Oval, Adelaide


New Zealand v Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars (ODI) schedule

26 February: First ODI, Eden Park No.2, Auckland

2 March: Second ODI, Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui

5 March: Third ODI, Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui

Top Stories