Cricket network logo

Scorchers Guaranteed Home Final

26 January 2021

Mitch Marsh and Josh Philippe

The Perth Scorchers are guaranteed a final at home after finishing second on the 2020-21 KFC Big Bash League ladder with eight wins and 32 points to their name.

The Scorchers will take on the Sydney Sixers in the Qualifier this Saturday at 4:15pm WST at Canberra’s Manuka Oval, following the official release of the KFC Big Bash League Finals fixture.

A win against the Sixers will see the Scorchers straight into the season-decider scheduled to be played next Saturday 6 February at Optus Stadium.

If Perth lose, they are guaranteed a second chance and will host the Challenger against the winner of the Knockout on Thursday 4 February at Optus Stadium.

Head coach Adam Voges said;

“We’re looking forward to the challenge against the Sixers this Saturday and then coming home to play in front of our incredible Members and fans next week whether it be in the Challenger or Final.

“It’s been such a unique season and to be guaranteed a finals match at Optus Stadium is reward for the team’s efforts.”

Over 100,000 fans attended the four Scorchers matches and a neutral match at Optus Stadium across ten days earlier this month.

WACA CEO Christina Matthews said;

“It’s great to have the opportunity to reward our supporters through hosting a final here at Optus Stadium after such a successful run earlier in the year.

“We’re grateful for the continued support of the WA Government, including the Western Australian Police Force, Department of Health, Office of the Chief Health Officer and the Chief Health Officer in working with us and Cricket Australia to host matches here in Perth.”

Week 2 finals tickets go on sale to Scorchers Members at 10.00am and the general public at 2.00pm via Ticketmaster on Monday 1 February.

All Finals matches will be broadcast live on Seven, Foxtel, Kayo and SEN Radio.

MATCH DETAILS – The Qualifier
Sydney Sixers v Perth Scorchers
Saturday 30 January 4:15pm WST
Manuka Oval, Canberra
LIVE: Seven, Foxtel, Kayosports, SEN Radio,