Cricket network logo

Nitschke To Lead Title-Winning Scorchers

31 May 2022

Shelley Nitschke has signed a new two-year deal to remain with Perth.

Renowned title-winning Head Coach Shelley Nitschke will remain at the helm of Perth Scorchers’ Weber Women’s Big Bash League team, after signing a two-year contract extension.

Nitschke, who first took the reins as Perth’s Head Coach in 2020-21, was pivotal to the Scorchers securing their maiden WBBL championship against Adelaide Strikers in front of a record crowd at Optus Stadium in November.

Perth’s players have thrived in the calm and inclusive environment created by Nitschke, reaching the WBBL|06 semi-finals before finishing atop the ladder and hosting The Final last season.

Her prosperous partnership with recently re-signed skipper Sophie Devine has yielded 16 wins from 26 completed games – the best win-loss ratio of any WBBL
team over the past two seasons.

Nitschke will balance Scorchers duties with her new role as interim Head Coach of the Australia Women’s cricket team, having been an assistant coach for that side since 2018.

Reflecting on being re-appointed as Head Coach, Nitschke said:

“I’m thrilled to have another couple of years at the Scorchers. Obviously we had an amazing year last year, winning the title, but I think we’re starting to build something special and it’s great to be a part of.

“I think there’s always an element of connection with your players and within the group, and I think that’s why we were so successful. We’ve got a great core group, great camaraderie within the group and an incredibly strong culture.

“A massive factor of teams winning the WBBL is the whole squad contributing, not just the big names.

“We can look at the performances last year of the likes of Chloe Piparo, Alana King – who is now Cricket Australia contracted – and others of that
ilk, who all performed when we needed them. There’s definitely exceptional talent and variety within the squad, and I can’t wait to work with them again.”

Perth Scorchers WBBL08 Squad

Mathilda Carmichael

Piepa Cleary

Sophie Devine (c)

Alana King

Beth Mooney

Lilly Mills

Chloe Piparo