Cricket network logo

BBL Final Squad Named

28 January 2022

Ashton Turner with BBL Trophy // Getty Images

Perth Scorchers have named their 17-player squad for the 2021-22 KFC Big Bash League Final against Sydney Sixers at Marvel Stadium tomorrow night.

Star allrounder Mitch Marsh was included in the extended side after pulling up well from the minor hamstring injury he sustained against the Sixers during Saturday’s Qualifier.

While Marsh showed promising signs during the week, a final call on his fitness will be made before the game.

For audio and vision of Ashton Turner’s press conference this afternoon, click here.

Cam Bancroft, Matt Kelly and Chris Sabburg returned to full training after a stint on the sidelines with COVID-19, and are also in the mix for selection.

Meantime, skipper Ashton Turner will become the first Perth Scorcher to play 100 BBL games for the Club.

The milestone was recognised by players and staff during tonight’s training session at Marvel Stadium, when head coach Adam Voges presented Turner with a commemorative shirt signed by the squad.

A compilation of congratulatory messages from Turner’s teammates was then shown on the big screen, before Perth shifted their focus to fine-tuning for the campaign’s marquee contest.

Remarkably, Perth Scorchers and Sydney Sixers will have played against each other in five of the BBL’s 11 title-deciders when the action commences tomorrow.

The victor will celebrate a record-breaking fourth BBL championship.

Final: Perth Scorchers BBL squad
1. Ashton Turner ©
2. Ashton Agar
3. Jason Behrendorff
4. Cam Bancroft
5. Laurie Evans
6. Aaron Hardie
7. Peter Hatzoglou
8. Nick Hobson
9. Josh Inglis
10. Matt Kelly
11. Mitch Marsh
12. David Moody
13. Colin Munro
14. Kurtis Patterson
15. Jhye Richardson
16. Chris Sabburg
17. Andrew Tye

Big Bash League – Final

Perth Scorchers v Sydney Sixers
Friday 28 January, 4:40pm WST
Marvel Stadium, Melbourne
LIVE: Seven, Foxtel, Kayo, SEN 1116