Cricket network logo

Swan View, Applecross Claim Scorchers Women's League Titles

07 January 2020

Applecross claim Perth Scorchers Women's League South title

Swan View Cricket Club and Applecross Cricket Club have been named North and South champions of the 2019 Perth Scorchers Women’s League respectively, following two highly competitive grand finals which took place last month.

Perth Scorchers Women’s League – North

Swan View Cricket Club hosted Ellenbrook Rangers Cricket Club in a thrilling grand final on December 8.

Ellenbrook to a good start led by opener Tammy Lines (22), but the side struggled to keep the momentum losing cheap wickets in the middle overs of play before closing their innings with a total of 135 runs.

After a few early wickets, Swan View got into a nice groove thanks to Brooke Wright (43) and Melissa Green (25) with teammate Kayla Ausgustynek (18) also backing their efforts.

Ellenbrook were not ready to give up the fight, claiming two golden ducks to rattle the Swan View middle order.

But it wasn’t enough to restrict Swan View who reached a total of 160 to claim the championship title.

Award winners:
Best Bowler – Deanne Howard (Swan View CC)
Best Batter – Emily Rixon (Ellenbrook Rangers CC)
Champion Player – Emily Rixon (Ellenbrook Rangers CC)
Spirit of Cricket Award – Brooke Wright (Swan View CC)

Perth Scorchers Women’s League – South

Applecross Cricket Club won the toss and went into bat first in their grand final match against Roleystone-Karragullen Gold at home.

Applecross put on a dominant display with the bat, smacking their way to 182 runs at the end of their first innings.

Roleystone-Karragullen’s Sherrida Zeidas, who captained the girls to victory in their inaugural season was one to watch, only surrendering six runs from her two overs.

The bar had been set high for the Roleystone-Karragullen batters, and the moment of the match came when Megan Everitt made her half century off just 16 balls.

Despite a great effort from Roleystone-Karragullen, Applecross remained out of reach and claimed a 37-run victory.

Award winners:
Best Bowler – Maddison Briggs (Roleystone-Karragullen CC)
Best Batter – Louise Knitter (Roleystone-Karragullen CC)
Champion Player – Isuri Wijesinghe (Applecross CC)
Spirit of Cricket Award – Megan Everitt (Roleystone-Karragullen CC)