Cricket network logo

WBBL Opener Squads Locked In

16 October 2021

The Perth Scorchers have announced a 13-player squad for their opening two matches of the Weber Women’s Big Bash League against the Brisbane Heat at Hobart’s Blundstone Arena.

The Scorchers flew to Hobart today following confirmation from the League that the season will continue under strict biosecurity protocols.

A star-studded Scorchers squad will take on the Heat twice in three days to kickstart their WBBL|07 campaign.

Boom overseas recruits Chamari Athapaththu and Marizanne Kapp are in line for a Scorchers debut after joining the Club in the off-season.

The uncapped trio of Lisa Griffith, Alana King and Lilly Mills have also been included in the squad.

Perth Scorchers head coach Shelley Nitschke said;

“We’re thankful organisers were able to reach an agreement with the Tasmanian Government to continue the WBBL.

“We can’t wait to get out there tomorrow and play, it’ll be exciting to see some new faces in the Scorchers orange.

“Our team have trained strongly in Perth this week and we’re well prepared for the season to get underway.”

WBBL – Match 1

Perth Scorchers v Brisbane Heat
Sunday 17 October
Blundstone Arena, Hobart
LIVE: Ch7, Fox, Kayo, ABC Radio

WBBL – Match 2

Brisbane Heat v Perth Scorchers
Tuesday 19 October
Blundstone Arena, Hobart
LIVE: Fox, Kayo, ABC Radio

Perth Scorchers Squad:
Sophie Devine (C)
Chamari Athapaththu
Samantha Betts
Mathilda Carmichael
Piepa Cleary
Heather Graham
Lisa Griffith
Marizanne Kapp
Alana King
Lilly Mills
Beth Mooney
Taneale Peschel
Chloe Piparo