Scorchers Set For Top-End T20

Perth Scorchers will test their wares against talented sides from Asia and Australia in Darwin next month, joining the expanded Men’s 2024 Top End T20 Series.

The Scorchers are one of three new sides in the nine-team competition, alongside Adelaide Strikers and Tasmania Tigers.

Melbourne Stars and Melbourne Renegades will field Academy sides, while ACT Comets and defending champions NT Strike round out the Australian contingent of teams.

Asian powerhouses Pakistan and Bangladesh are also poised to field representative outfits again, with 2023 runners-up the Pakistan Shaheens joined by a Bangladesh High Performance squad.

The Scorchers are set for the series-opener against NT Strike on Friday 9 August, and will use their campaign to provide opportunities for some of the State’s most promising prospects including dynamic opener Sam Fanning and emerging quick Mahli Beardman.

A full travelling squad will be announced prior to the tournament commencing.

Comments attributable to Perth Scorchers General Manager – High Performance Cricket and Elite teams, Kade Harvey said:

“We’re thrilled to be part of the Top End T20 Series, which has grown significantly since it started.

“The competition adds another layer to what our pre-season would typically be, exposing players to tournament conditions ahead of the Australian domestic season.

“It’s also a great opportunity for some of WA’s most promising prospects to test themselves against quality opponents from Australia and Asia.

“We’re grateful for all the work put in by everybody at NT Cricket, who make the event possible each year.”  

2024 Top End T20 fixture 

Friday 9 August 

6:00pm: Northern Territory vs. Perth Scorchers | DXC Arena 

Saturday 10 August 

10:00am: Melbourne Renegades vs. Melbourne Stars | DXC Arena 

3:00pm: Perth Scorchers vs. Pakistan Shaheens | DXC Arena 

6:00pm: Tasmania vs. Adelaide Strikers | TIO Stadium 

Sunday 11 August   

10:00am: Bangladesh HP vs. Melbourne Renegades | Gardens Oval 

1:00pm: Adelaide Strikers vs. Northern Territory | Gerry Wood Oval 

3:00pm: Pakistan Shaheens vs. Melbourne Stars | Gardens Oval 

Monday 12 August 

10:00am: Tasmania vs. Northern Territory | TIO Stadium 

2:00pm: Perth Scorchers vs. ACT Comets | DXC Arena 

6:00pm: Tasmania vs. Bangladesh HP | TIO Stadium 

Tuesday 13 August 

10:00am: Melbourne Stars vs. Adelaide Strikers | Cazaly’s Arena 

1:00pm: Northern Territory vs. Melbourne Renegades | DXC Arena 

3:00pm: Melbourne Stars vs. ACT Comets | Cazaly’s Arena 

6:00pm: Tasmania vs. Pakistan Shaheens | DXC Arena 

Wednesday 14 August 

10:00am: Melbourne Renegades vs. Perth Scorchers | Cazaly’s Arena 

1:00pm: Adelaide Strikers vs. Bangladesh HP | DXC Arena 

3:00pm: Melbourne Renegades vs. Tasmania | Cazaly’s Arena 

6:00pm: Northern Territory vs. Melbourne Stars | DXC Arena 

Thursday 15 August 

1:00pm: ACT Comets vs. Bangladesh HP | TIO Stadium 

3:00pm: Perth Scorchers vs. Adelaide Strikers | Gardens Oval 

6:00pm: Melbourne Renegades vs. Pakistan Shaheens | TIO Stadium 

Friday 16 August 

10:00am: Tasmania vs. Melbourne Stars | TIO Stadium 

2:00pm: ACT Comets vs. Northern Territory | Gardens Oval 

6:00pm: Pakistan Shaheens vs. Bangladesh HP | TIO Stadium 

Saturday 17 August 

10:00am: ACT Comets vs. Adelaide Strikers | DXC Arena  

2:00pm: Bangladesh HP vs. Perth Scorchers | TIO Stadium 

6:00pm: ACT Comets vs. Pakistan Shaheens | DXC Arena 

Sunday 18 August   

10:00am: Semi-Final 1 | DXC Arena 

10:00am: Semi-Final 2 | TIO Stadium 

4:00pm: Final | DXC Arena